BATHURST, N.B. – The Acadie-Bathurst Titan are headed to the Memorial Cup.

Samuel L’Italien scored the eventual winner as the Titan squeaked out a 2-1 win over the Blainville-Boisbriand Armada in Game 6 of their Quebec Major Junior Hockey League final on Sunday to advance to the four-team tournament and win the league’s President Cup.

Jeffrey Truchon-Viel also scored for Acadie-Bathurst, who won the series 4-2.

Truchon-Viel, who recorded 23 points in 20 post-season games, was awarded the Guy Lafleur Trophy for QMJHL playoff MVP.

Drake Batherson scored the lone goal for the Armada.

Evan Fitzpatrick turned away 29 shots for Acadie-Bathurst. Emile Samson made 24 saves for Blainville-Boisbriand.

The Titan went 0 for 1 on the power play. The Armada went 0 for 3 with the man advantage.

This year’s Memorial Cup is being hosted by the Regina Pats. Earlier Sunday, the Hamilton Bulldogs clinched a spot in the tournament.

…read more



(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *